Friday, February 15, 2013

Robinson falls in 3A semifinals

Jay M. Robinson barely got by host Southwest Randolph 32-31 Thursday night in the N.C. High School Athletic Association 3A dual-team wrestling quarterfinals.

But the Bulldogs couldn't muster a win against Fred T. Foard in the semis, dropping the match 38-27.

Robinson, the SPC regular-season and conference champions, finish the year 28-7.

The Bulldogs and other local wrestlers will compete in the 3A Midwest individual regional on Feb. 22-23 at Hickory Ridge. The top four wrestlers in each class will qualify for the 3A state meet in Greensboro on Feb. 28-March 2.

Eagles named all-conference

The Metrolina Athletic Conference announced its boys' and girls' all-conference basketball teams. Five First Assembly players Cassidy Crawford, Zaria Wright, Kriston Beasley, Nate Cantadore and Stefan Fundic were honors.

Here is the complete all-conference lists:

2012-13 Girls MAC All-Conference
Hannah Adamczyk – Hickory Grove Christian School
Catherine Casey – Westminster Catawba Christian School
Cassidy Crawford – First Assembly Christian School
Catherine Crouch – Covenant Day School
Amanda Dobner – Hickory Grove Christian School
Veronica Dzuik – SouthLake Christian Academy
Kianna Funderburk – SouthLake Christian Academy
Hannah Griffin – Hickory Grove Christian School
Jayla Joyner – Hickory Grove Christian School
Nora Logan – Metrolina Christian Academy
Morgan Mosteller – Covenant Day School
Nina Okoroji – Gaston Christian School
Giselle Verville – SouthLake Christian Academy
Zaria Wright – First Assembly Christian School

2012-13 Boys MAC All-Conference
David Airing – Covenant Day School
Kriston Beasley – First Assembly Christian School
Nate Cantadore – First Assembly Christian School
James Demery – Northside Christian Academy
Dustin Dodd – Hickory Grove Christian School
Josh Dominguez – Metrolina Christian Academy
Stefan Fundic – First Assembly Christian School
Keith Griffin – Hickory Grove Christian School
AJ Jackson – Westminster Catawba Christian School
Luke Morrison – Northside Christian Academy
Tyrell Nelson – Metrolina Christian Academy
Phillip Reed – Northside Christian Academy
Jalen Sanders – SouthLake Christian Academy
Keyshawn Woods – Northside Christian Academy