Friday, October 21, 2011

A.L. Brown, Robinson win cross country championships

A.L. Brown won the South Piedmont Conference boys’ cross country championship, while Jay M. Robinson won the girls’ title.

The Wonder boys were led by senior Jose Navarette’s second place finish. Robinson junior Clifford Buck won to lead his Bulldogs to a second-place finish. Hickory Ridge wrapped up the boys’ top three.

On the girls’ side, Robinson’s Natalie Andrejchak, Alyssa Lashway and Brooke Johns finished as the top three, respectively, to lead the Bulldogs to their title. A.L. Brown finished second while Northwest Cabarrus was third.

A.L. Brown's Brian Landis and Robinson's Justin Gutierrez were named boys' and girls' SPC Coach of the Year, respectively.